Board of Directors

Honorary Directors

Henry A. Kissinger

Secretary of State 1973-1977

George P. Shultz

Secretary of State 1982-1989

James A. Baker, III

Secretary of State 1989-1992

Madeleine K. Albright

Secretary of State 1996-2001

Colin L. Powell

Secretary of State 2001-2005

Condoleezza Rice

Secretary of State 2005-2009

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Secretary of State 2009-2013

John Kerry

Secretary of State 2013-2017

Board of Directors

James A. Baker, III

Honorary Co-Chair

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Honorary Co-Chair

L-R: Former Secretaries of State Kissinger and Baker, Secretary of State Kerry, DCF Chairman Harrop with Former Secretaries of State Clinton, Albright and Powell at the Groundbreaking Ceremonies, Sept. 2014.

William C. Harrop*


Former Inspector General of the Department of State and Ambassador to Guinea, Kenya and Seychelles, Zaire and Israel.

Thomas R. Pickering*

Vice Chairman

Chairman of the American Academy of Diplomacy; former Under Secretary of State, Assistant Secretary of State, Representative to the United Nations and Ambassador to Jordan, Nigeria, El Salvador, Israel, India and Russia.

Thomas E. McNamara*


Former Assistant Secretary of State for Political - Military Affairs, Ambassador to Colombia, Special Assistant to the President, and President of the Americas Society and the Council of the Americas.

Roman Popadiuk*

Vice President

Chairman of World Affairs Council, former Executive Director of the George Bush Presidential Library Foundation and the first United States Ambassador to Ukraine.

S. Daniel Abraham

A highly successful entrepreneur in the pharmaceutical and diet food industries, Danny Abraham is a prominent American philanthropist in the fields of Public Health, Education, and, notably, the search for peace in the Middle East.

Nina N. Ansary

President of the Ansary Foundation, Vice Chairman of Parman Capital Group and a director of Stewart & Stevenson LLC.

Elizabeth Frawley Bagley

Senior Advisor to Secretary of State John F. Kerry; leads fundraising for U. S. Diplomacy Center and other Department projects; former Ambassador to Portugal; Recipient of the Ellis Island Medal of Honor; member of Massachusetts, DC Bars.

Stuart A. Bernstein

Chairman Emeritus of the Bernstein Companies, Emeritus Trustee of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and former Ambassador to Denmark.

R. Nicholas Burns

Professor of the Practice of Diplomacy and International Relations at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government, former Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs and Ambassador to NATO and Greece.

Frank C. Carlucci, III

Former Secretary of Defense, National Security Adviser, Deputy Director of CIA, Chairman of the Carlyle Group and Ambassador to Portugal.

Anthony R. Chase

Professor of Law at the University of Houston Law Center, Chairman & CEO of ChaseSource, L.P. and Director of Anadarco.

Frances D. Cook

Chairman of Lonrho Plc and former Ambassador to Burundi, Cameroon and the Sultanate of Oman.

Sally Grooms Cowal

Senior Vice President for Global Health, American Cancer Society; former Vice President of Population Services International and Ambassador to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

James T.L. Dandridge II

Retired Career FSO, Minister Counselor with ancillary experience to include Special Operations Branch Chief in Organization of Joint Chiefs of Staff; Washington Institute of Foreign Affairs Director; DACOR Governor/Trustee; and former Chairman of Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training.

William C. Eacho, III

Visiting Professor, Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University; Co-Founder/ Chair, Partnership for Responsible Growth; former Ambassador to Austria; CEO, Carlton Capital Group, LLC; CEO, Atlantic Food Services; Chair, UniPro Foodservice.

Robert L. Gallucci

Former President of MacArthur Foundation, former Dean of Georgetown School of Foreign Service, Assistant Secretary of State and Ambassador at Large.

Bruce S. Gelb

Former President of the Council of American Ambassadors, Director of the United States Information Agency and Ambassador to Belgium.

Leslie H. Gelb

Former President of the Council on Foreign Relations, Assistant Secretary of State and New York Times columnist.

Lee H. Hamilton

Director of the Center on Congress at Indiana University, former Director of the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars, Member of Congress and Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee.

Susan Rockwell Johnson

President, Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training; retired FSO, minister Counselor; DCM/ Charge in Romania & Mauritius; two-term President of the American Foreign Service Association.

Ellen Laipson

Distinguished Fellow and Past President/CEO, Stimson Center; former Vice Chair, National Intelligence Council, member Department of State Policy Planning Staff; Advisory Council of IISS; Institute for the Study of Diplomacy.

Michele A. Manatt

A seasoned advisor on U.S. foreign policy, government affairs, and women’s advancement globally. She is a member of Meridian International Center’s Board of Trustees, and is the Chair and founding member of its Council on Women’s Leadership. Ms. Manatt served seven years in the Clinton Administration at the State Department and White House.

Mary M. Ourisman

Former Ambassador, Barbados & Eastern Caribbean; Board of Directors, Washington National Opera; Trustee Emeritus, Blair House Restoration Fund; Exec. Committee, Meridian International Center, Kennedy Center, Smithsonian Institution.

Stephen P. Randolph

Historian of the U. S. Department of State, former Associate Dean of Faculty at Industrial College Air Force, ret.

Paul S. Sarbanes

Former United States Senator from Maryland.

John Welch

Executive Vice President/Chief Legal Officer, DMI; former Managing Director/Principal, Greysteel Equity Markets; former Partner, Jones Day, LP; member, California, District of Columbia Bars.

Robin B. Wright

Joint fellow at the U.S. Institute of Peace and Woodrow Wilson International Center, Award-winning foreign correspondent, reported from 140 countries on six continents, and author of 9 books on international affairs.

*Executive Committee


Thomas E. McNamara, President

(see above)

Susan Rockwell Johnson, Secretary

(see above)

Walter (Jim) J. Woolwine, Treasurer

CFO, Gerontological Society of America, CPA; retired Foreign Service Officer

Robert C. Heath, Executive Director

Retired Foreign Service Officer


Stephen Low

Founding President of the DCF, former director of the Foreign Service Institute, Director of the Johns Hopkins University Bologna Center, and former Ambassador to Zambia and Nigeria.

Charles McC. Mathias

Senator Mathias was the Founding Chairman of the DCF and former U.S. Senator from Maryland.


Keith L. Brown

Herbert J. Hansell

Arthur A. Hartman

Richard H. Solomon

Terence A. Todman

‡ Deceased